We’ve been conducting a process to find the next Chair of the Civil Service LGBT+ Network over the past couple of months. Hundreds of staff across dozens of departments have taken part in this process, and after a closely fought election, we now have a winner!

I can now reveal that the new co-chairs of the Civil Service LGBT+ Network are Saorsa-Amatheia Tweedale and Jefferson Welsby. I have published a breakdown of the results from each Civil Service organisation that participated, if you are interested in finding out how your department, or another, voted.

Photograph of Saorsa-Amatheia Tweedale and Jefferson Welsby

Both Saorsa and Jeff are the outgoing chairs of the Department for Work and Pensions LGBT network, DWP Pride. You can read a little more about them in their candidate statement from the election.

Handover and what happens next

Saorsa and Jeff will take up their posts from the end of July 2023. As the outgoing chair, I will remain in post the end of September 2023.

Day-to-day leadership of the network will sit with Saorsa and Jeff from 31 July, and I’ll use this two month overlap to wrap up some ongoing work and enable them both to have a smooth transition and handover.

Contact the co-chairs

We’ve set up an email address for your new co-chairs already, so you can start to get in touch with them. Their email address is chairs@civilservice.lgbt.